Crystal Wilkinson to Deliver Keynote at 46th Appalachian Writers’ Workshop

Kentucky Poet Laureate and NAACP Award-Winning author, Crystal Wilkinson, will deliver the Jim Wayne Miller/James Still Keynote Address at the 46th annual Appalachian Writers’ Workshop at the historic Hindman Settlement School. Ms. Wilkinson’s address will be held near the conclusion of the workshop, on Thursday, July 27, and will be open to the public to attend. A book signing reception will follow.
The workshop itself will feature a host of notable faculty members from Appalachia and the South, including novelists, David Joy and Angela Jackson-Brown; short story writer, Mesha Maren; poets, Marianne Worthington and Doug Van Gundy; and creative nonfiction writer, Neema Avashia; workshop leaders, Annette Saunooke Clapsaddle, M. Randal O’Wain, Stacy Jane Grover, Melissa Helton, and Clint Waters; musician-in-residence, Andrew Preston; and senior writer-in-residence, George Ella Lyon.
The week will begin with a time of reflection on the historic flooding that ravaged eastern Kentucky last summer and led to an abrupt ending to the 2022 Appalachian Writers’ Workshop. Attendees will have the opportunity to participate in story exchanges facilitated by Narrative4 and the creation of individual or group art with the guidance of local artist Jenn Noble.
The 46th annual Appalachian Writers’ Workshop will be held July 23-28, 2023 on the campus of Hindman Settlement School. Application information and more details are available on The deadline for manuscript submissions is Monday, May 1. Mark your calendars today!